h1

Grace & Strength

September 15, 2010

I had no idea it’s been 2 weeks since my last post.. oops!  It’s been kind of crazy. In fact, I had to call Cyndi on Saturday and confess some stuff.  You know, nothing major just a little cheese here, a double double with fries and a chocolate shake from In-N-Out there… For reals! I don’t know what happened to me, but on Friday night it was on!  I don’t even know how I fit it all in me, but I immediately regretted it.

Anyways, no excuses.  I was tired, and touring was tiring, the studio had worn me out, and I made a choice; a poor one.  But the In-N-Out “episode” was kind of confirmation of something I had been dealing with all week, which was whether or not I should go off the drops for a while during our crazy tour schedule because it’s become increasingly difficult to adhere to the 500 calorie protocol.

I love the Grace & Strength diet, because there was no judgment on the phone with Cyndi on Saturday; only Grace. She listened to my failures, and my thoughts about the reset and her only reply was this, “I just want to make sure that you’re not resetting because this is hard.” (or something to that effect. I probably shouldn’t have quoted, because I’m not sure that’s exactly what she said, but you get the drift).  She wanted to make sure I wasn’t giving up.  And I’m not.

I’m being realistic.  I have felt like such a failure the last week.  I’m up 1.6 pounds from 10 days ago, so I’ve spent the last week and a half doing nothing! I felt like a loser! But most of all, I felt like I had set myself up for the failure.

“It’s going to be a rough day, I’m probably going to cheat.”

“I’m exhausted and hungry, I’ll need the extra calories today.”

The truth is, they were rough travel days, and I was exhausted, and I probably did need the extra calories, but I was admitting to defeat before the day had even begun!  The next two weeks are going to be super busy. I leave today and have 4 shows in a row, then 3 studio days, then shows, then studio, shows, studio…  So I decided I need a break.  Emotionally, spiritually and most definitely physically I need to refocus and not be stressed out about everything I’m putting in my mouth.  That’s how the “old Amy” dieted and that’s why she quit every time.

So, I’m not sure how long we’ll reset, but at least this first week of touring. It’s funny, this was the first time I’ve really felt discouraged since I started the diet.  I feel like I’m the only person whose ever plateaued and I’m never going start losing again.  Then I remembered, oh yeah, that’s a load of crap! I’m not the only person to plateau, it’s totally normal to go through this, and I AM NOT ALONE!!

That being said, I put out a note to the Grace & Strengthers to see if anyone would like to share their journey with us.  I need the encouragement right now, and hopefully someone reading needs it to.  I got a lot of responses, so I won’t be able to post them all at one time, but over the next week I’ll add them.

Here we go…

My name is Aaron Davis. I am a Pastor and Retired S.W.A.T team Member in the Nashville area. When I started the Grace and Strength Diet with Cyndi Benson Ministries I was 252 pounds and had been taking prescription strength meds for heartburn and GERD for 8+ years for a Hiatal Hernia. The heartburn was so bad that if I didn’t have a pill in a 24 hour period of time I would not be able to sleep because of the pain and discomfort.

After a week on the Grace and Strength diet I noticed that I did not have heartburn. I quit taking the pills and have not had one since (14 weeks). I lost 30 lbs in 40 days with virtually no exercise (3 days of exercise in 40 days) and have completed all phases of the diet now for 5 weeks and am maintaining my target weight with no difficulty. I have tried several different diet and exercise programs over the years and the significant difference in this one, for me was the lack of hunger pains and what I would term “Hunger Jitters” where in times past I would get extremely irritable, shaky and even fatigued along with HUNGRY… I did NOT feel any of those previous symptoms on the Grace and Strength Diet after the first 2-3 days…I was actually amazed how well my body responded and even cooperated with the diet…I was a skeptic going in and a believer coming out… Thanks Cyndi!

I know Aaron personally, and I’m so proud of him!!!

I have struggled with my weight for years.  With each added pound came a pound of guilt.  I hated the way I looked, in fact I began to hate myself.  I sing on our praise team at church and I had begun to stop accepting times to sing because of how I looked.  My weight had come between me and my service to the Lord.  It was then that I realized I was going to do something about it, no matter what the cost.

I had been reading your blog, Amy, for a while and realized that there was someone else out there who felt somewhat like I did.  When you mentioned the Grace and Strength Diet, I was all over it!  I contacted Cyndi that minute and got started on my weight loss journey.  I have learned so much over the past couple of months.  God has been with me every step of the way.  My confidence level has soared, I feel tremendously better, and I sleep so much better!  I am down 33 pounds and 17 inches!  Woo-hoo!!  Besides God, I want to thank you, Amy, for being so transparent on your blog.  If it weren’t for reading your blog, I never would have found Cyndi.  I thank my God upon every remembrance of you two!

That’s all for today… I know this post is long…

I’ll post some more in a few. If there’s anyone else who wants to share their weight loss journey, send it on; either to my email or as a comment!

amy

4 comments

  1. ok here I go…as the mom I should probably sit quietly in the wings and say nothing but that just isn’t me.I have told you before that I feel that you are too hard on yourself sometimes. You tell me that you’re not and you give me that that … look. You know that one. So in for a penny in for a pound…You did’nt wake up one morning overweight. It’s not like a pimple that wasn’t there the night before. However for people like us sometimes it feels that way. Deny, deny, deny and then omg how did i get this big. It was a slow gain day after day after day. No one,even my strong, determined daughter can lose it in 4 months. Like any journey it is going to take time. This is not just a diet but a lifechanging lesson. Even God rested on the seventh day. Maybe this is your “seventh day”. It doesn’t mean you’re giving up unless you want it to be. You choose…you decide. Job’s wife told him to curse God and die but he chose to live. You have already been given valuable points to live on by Cyndi. She has and will continue to show you the path to a healthy lifestyle and God will give you the strength to take that path. There will be hills and valleys and sometimes you will stumble and fall. That’s where I come in and your husband and your family and friends. We will always be there to encourage you on this life journey. You have stumbled on a rock of life and now you need to rest a little and enjoy the view from the mountain top. Trust me there are still valleys to go through. I love you more than I can say and….don’t be so hard on yourself.XXOO


  2. Hey Amy! I talked with you in line at the Attica, NY concert. You were so sick that night! I hope you are feeling better.

    Anyways, I just wanted to let you know what a blessing your “weight-issue/food-issue” testimony was to me and I’m sure many many others.

    I’ll have to check out this Grace and Truth diet you talk about it….

    google here i come.

    Here is my blog that I was talking about, Ordinary Inspirations:

    http://www.ordinaryinspirations.blogspot.com

    Here is the post about what God is doing in my heart:

    http://ordinaryinspirations.blogspot.com/2010/09/if-you-struggle-with-food-addiction.html

    Here is the post about the concert:

    http://ordinaryinspirations.blogspot.com/2010/09/selah-concert.html

    Thanks for your awesome ministry!

    Love,
    Traci

    You can email me at curly2880 at yahoo dot com


  3. Amy,
    Saw your show at Attica last Thursday and was really encouraged about your weight loss. I have been struggling for years and am attending my first Transitions meeting on Thursday of this week (Missed the info meeting to come to your concert :)
    Transitions is low GI foods and I know that I can do really well on this way of life because it is all real food…just as God intended.
    The reason I decided to post was because you mentioned that you have plateaued and wanted to suggest something to you. Do a detox. Eat 3 fruits daily and all other items you eat should be veggies. Drink a ton or water or herbal (natually decaf) teas. Your schedule appears to be a bit crazy so you may want to wait to do it…but I am telling you…IT WORKS. Then eat low GI foods. Fruit, veggies, lean protein and high fiber carbs. You cant fail eating the things the Lord created for us to eat…


  4. Hi Amy….I did it! I’m on board with ya…I’ve lost 6 lbs since I saw you in the salon and I’m so excited to join y’all ! Like Aaron, I too have ditched acid reflux and am off the antacid stuff. I’ve watched so many loose weight on the Grace and Strength Diet for the past two years that I figured I better get on board or be left behind. Love you girl…you are an inspiration to me. Virginia



Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,089 other followers

