h1

Weight Watchers

May 4, 2010

Well I’ve started Weight Watchers.  It’s not easy for me.. and it’s not really something I would consider fun, but I’m going to try.  My goal isn’t so much great weight loss, as it is learning how to eat properly.  I’d like to get into a really good habit of healthier eating and some exercise before I try to have a baby.. which could be soon if Jake has his way.

I just need time and encouragement.  Anyone who has a good weight loss story is welcome to comment and leave some encouragement!

thanks

amy

17 comments

  1. I know you will do great


  2. you can do it girl! I did weight watchers a few years back and it worked! I too was trying to get weight off before having a baby! It did help us get pregnant although we ended up losing the baby due to immune issues my body had. I am still in this weight battle too and its hard! We are adopting and I want so badly to be healthier and feel better by time we bring our child home!


  3. Amy-

    I just started WW back up today too…I know the program really well and have had success (when I stick to it), happy to help if you have questions at all with the plan, online tools, or with tips etc. I have a ways to go, so I will be walking with you in this. 🙂

    Lisa


  4. I started 2010 with a goal of eating healthier this year. I am proud that I did make some good strides so far – I got rid of the egg noodle spaghetti and got whole wheat spaghetti and also bought brown rice. I like to eat turkey bacon as part of my breakfast and usually stick to turkey or chicken for my preferred meats. My problem has been lack of exercise. I was working 3 part time jobs in the fall (teaching 6 classes between 2 colleges) and an additional one. I got motivated when the worship pastor at my church said he had started exercising again, but then it stopped. And then sometimes I stress eat – like with my recent car accident on April 15th. I had a few peanut butter cup milkshakes with chocolate syrup from Braums. Not good. I would rather get into stress exercising or stress cleaning than that. I have gotten better. But still not good. Add on top I am 41 and would like for it to be my turn to meet a wonderful godly Christian man who loves the Lord, music, and assorted animals. I find myself falling into the I am not good enough or I am too ugly or too fat. And I know that is not how God sees me, but I do struggle with that. Also add that when I saw the picture of me with you, Todd and Allan I thought to myself yuck – I look terrible. Everyone else looked great, but not me. I think part of it is I struggle with being able to afford to keep myself looking decent. I’d love to do a program like Weight Watchers, but I am finding myself out of work yet again (adjunct psychology instructor – trying to find full time employment so I don’t have to have this cycle anymore).

    Thanks for starting this up! I think you are and will be a great example for others out there.


  5. I’m here to encourage you! The best thing I EVER did was buy a juicer. I’d love to talk to you about it, I lost 20 lbs!!!

    (We met last year when you came to Spirit 1053 in Seattle….ready for a visit again! Your CD doesn’t leave my player. When I sing, I pretend your voice is my voice. Shhhhhh.) 🙂


  6. Hi Amy – Brian Wierenga here from Crossroads United Methodist Church in Washington, IL. I saw this post and wanted to share it with you. It’s from Ben McDonald from Sidewalk Prophets. I don’t know if you have crossed paths with him/them on the road or not but wanted to share in any event.

    Blessings to you in all that you do!

    P.S. – when are we gonna get you guys back in Washington again!?!? 😉

    – Brian

    __________________________
    I’ve been contacted by a lot of people asking similar questions and it’s hard for me to explain exactly how the change was made. Luckily, I have answered the question enough times now that I have a general idea of the main things that really made a difference. I’ll try to map out what made the difference for me and hopefully it will help you out some. For me, being healthy wasn’t my initial focus. My initial focus was being disciplined. I had gotten to a point where I weighed about 300 lbs and was very unhappy and seemingly helpless. I’m not sure what clicked inside me to make the change other than I was fed up with living a lifestyle that didn’t coincide with what I believed a Christ follower should be doing. Here is the process I went through…

    1. Goal Setting / Accountability

    This really should be the first point in my message so when you read this…just think of this as the actual first and most important thing. Before I ever started eating right or exercising I had a goal in mind. I weighed close to 300 lbs and according to the BMI scale my healthy weight was 195 lbs. I took that 195 lbs and made that my goal. Then I picked a date in which I wanted to achieve that goal by. For me, it was the release of our album which was August 25th. I deduced that I would have to lose 2.5 or 3 lbs a week to make this happen. Some experts say that losing 1-2 lbs a week is healthy but I feel like if you’re starting at a point where you don’t regularly eat well or exercise than there should be no limitations on how much you can lose in a week. If you work hard and lose 8lbs in a week then that is awesome. So now that I knew my goal was approx 3 lbs a week I made a game plan.

    -Mapping it out: It’s one thing to talk about losing weight it’s another thing to man up and do it. Part of the manning up and doing it for me was to actually break down my large goal of losing 100lbs to smaller daily/weekly goals. I designated one day a week in the morning as my weigh in day. This is where my accountability started. Nothing but me and the unwavering honest scale 🙂 Mapping out my weekly goals looked exactly like this.

    Start weight 300 lbs

    Nov 2 297
    Nov 9 294
    Nov 16 291
    Nov 23 288 etc etc etc…

    MAP OUT THE ENTIRE GOAL. EVERY WEEK~~!!! Then you’ll have milestone dates that help motivate you too.

    I made an entire map of what my weekly weight should be. From 300lbs all the way to 195 lbs. It became a great motivation to me to show up every Monday morning and cross another successful 3lbs off. When I got the entire road mapped out I sent it to all my close friends and family and told them exactly what my plans were. From that point out it gave them an opportunity to ask weekly how my goal was doing. That was another huge motivation tool. You gotta make the commitment and you gotta tell the ones who care about you most.

    -Weigh Yourself Daily: Another thing I had heard which I don’t really agree with is “weigh yourself once a week”. Some people say the scale can be discouraging if you weigh yourself daily. I think for big people getting on the scale is a daunting thing but if you can get on the scale daily, you can get
    a good idea of how your discipline in eating/working out is doing. If you feel like you’re working hard but you actually aren’t…the scale won’t lie.

    Right now I weigh myself every morning just to remind myself how hard I have worked and to make sure I keep on course.

    -If you’re ahead…stay ahead: Whatever weekly weight goal you set…if you lose more, then you need to adjust your goal chart accordingly. So if your weight goal for the week was to go from 290 to 287 and you actually got down to 285…then your goal the next week should be 282 (if you don’t adjust then you start to think you can be lax for a week but the idea is to stay disciplined).

    2. discipline in eating. I spent close to 2 months really learning about what true healthy eating is. This is before I started to exercise. I had to start discipline somewhere and figuring out eating I believe is crucial first step. Here is what I figured out during that time.

    -my favorite foods (potatoes, cheese, fried anything, bread, sugar filled junk) didn’t really benefit my body at all. So the first step was cutting these things out of my diet. That meant taking cheese off my subway sandwiches…never ordering a potato as a healthy substitute (they don’t really benefit your
    body but they do taste great and aren’t as fatty as fries. the only problem is your body stores them and keeps them as fat) I really think if you can’t find a way to accept this 110 percent from the beginning then you will find yourself plateauing sooner and giving up faster.

    -portion control – over a period of 7 months or so I started figuring out exactly what I could eat that would allow me to lose weight. I really just went by the “a serving size is the size of your fist” method. I figured if that is true then I was eating 4-5 times as much as I should have. I consider getting disciplined in this area a workout in itself. Like I said, I spent 2 months or so getting this figured out. The object is to eat the correct portion amount regardless of what your stomach is telling you. If you’re like I was, then your stomach is way larger than it should be and when you aren’t over stuffing it
    anymore- you feel like you should be eating. I fought through this feeling and probably lost 20-25 lbs (in 2 months) just on changing my eating habits.

    It’s hard but necessary if you’re wanting to lose weight in a healthy way and not have to take a bunch of weight loss drugs which probably don’t really help anyway.

    -SHUTTING IT DOWN

    Shutting it down is really the term I use for not eating after a certain point in the day. I stopped eating after 7pm and I challenge you to do the same. Try it for 3 weeks and you will see a significant change in your health. I promise! Try it for 3 weeks then do it for life 🙂

    -WATER

    Another huge problem for people is their intake of sugary beverages. I have always preferred water but understand there is a huge struggle for some people to pass up their favorite: starbucks, soda, milkshake. I have the same philosophy on this as with the point above. Shut it down. Try drinking only water for 3 weeks. Try it for 3 weeks and then do it for life. You’ll notice the difference BIG TIME!

    – CHEAT DAYS?!?! and REWARDS – I don’t understand any nutritionist or health instructors idea behind a “cheat” day. If you are reading this message than you have figured out that discipline is really the key to achieving your goals. Where is the discipline in a “cheat” day? There isn’t. Fatty, destructive,
    sugary foods aren’t remotely good for you. Even in moderation. I truly feel like the cheat day is a very disabling concept. I guess the bottom line is…if you want to make a true change then you’re really going to have to let go of these false notions that it’s okay to eat unheathly at times. If you are a
    “special occasion” eater or a “holiday” eater then I believe you’re setting yourself up to failure of acheiving your goals. Trust me, I weighed 300 lbs for a good 8-10 years. I know the feelings, patterns that come with being unhealthy. You aren’t helpless. Be encouraged! You can do it.

    3. Exercise

    Just like with the eating…exercising and pushing myself physically was something I truly had no concept of. One crucial thing that I found out early is that the most important thing I could do is just show up. Regardless of how much I hated myself/lifestyle in the beginning I always found a way to exercise for 30 minutes a day. Once I got the wheels turning it became just as normal as sitting on my butt used to be.

    -Gradual gratification. So my initial workouts consisted of walk/jogging 1-2 mile on a treadmill and riding 5 miles on a stationary bike. My objective in the beginning was to burn about 600 calories a day. It’s not about being fast or working out so hard that you feel like you’re going to die.

    -cardio is king. I used my intitial workouts of jog/walking / bike riding to propel myself to the next level which was purely running. The entire concept of weight loss is to burn more than you’re taking in and by figuring out healthy eating then I could better gauge the exercise required to routinely drop
    weight. Running saved my life. It sucked at first and seemed like it took forever before I could run an entire mile without stopping. I just kept showing up day after day and not stopping. I ran to the point I could run no more and then would gain my breathe and go again. Running is the best way for your
    entire body to get a workout. I’m no fitness expert but I can vouch for the fact I lost 110 lbs in 7 months 🙂

    -Adjust as time goes on…So I went from the 600 calories a day to just flat out running 2 miles. Then I started running 2 miles 2-3 times a day. I always pushed myself and that was the key to the weight loss. Continually look for a way to be active. If you’re sitting on your butt then you better figure out a
    way to get off it 🙂

    4. Determination for life: hopefully all this helps motivating you. No matter how impossible it feels…just know that you can do it! Trust me: I used to think that I was “big boned” or it was “God’s plan” for me to be big. That’s a blatant lie. You’re identity should be found in living a disciplined life (which embodies making Christ like choices that effect every area of your life: mental, physical, spiritual). If you make a goal and stick to it- it’s an amazing feeling. Don’t just make a goal you feel is achievable. Make a goal that you never thought would be possible. The majority of people make goals they think are easy – and most of those people can’t even meet those goals. The idea is to wake up daily and change your thought process. Your life needs to be built around making the right choices. If you’re like most people then your life is based around TV time, computer time, or just plain lazy time. Wake up daily and get active! We were never designed to sit around 80 percent of the day. In fact, I believe the opposite! If I can make this change than anyone can make this change!

    Okay, so that is an overview. I feel like I covered everything fairly well. This is what worked for me. No diet, no pills just doing what is disciplined, right, and healthy.

    Questions/Comments/Concerns/Encouragement? email me ben@sidewalkprophets.com

    PS I am not captain grammar…obviously 🙂


  7. Amy,
    You can do this and you are worth it. A dear friend asked me to be her pray for her daily as she changed her lifestyle for the better. I pray daily that she makes wise choices and that she has the strength to pass up the tempting foods that come her way. She started simple, which is so smart. Water, Walking & Writing. She drank water, she walked for 30 minutes on the treadmill (even if it was 2am, she still got her time in) and she wrote down everything she consumed. She has lost 40+ pounds by doing just those simple things. She has increased her walking time as she as built up her endurance.

    Press on, you can do this.

    I emailed her your link. I will pray for you daily as you make your choices daily.

    Katy Reitz


  8. Hi Amy

    I will pray for you. I know it is hard to eat right! I am an emotional eater 😦 But anyway, just a walk around the block every day will get you started, then increase that every week and add lots of fruit, veggies, and lean meats and you will see results! And just remember don’t deprive yourself of whatever it is you crave. Just eat it in moderation! But I am sure you can do it! 🙂


  9. What an exciting venture you are beginning! I am on my own journey to freedom, doing a temple transformation–a whole new way of weight loss for me. And I would love to be a prayer warrior for/with you!
    Please check out some of my blog posts! I know God will speak to you as He has me.


  10. Hi Amy,
    I think it is hard to be female in this culture without feeling pressured in some way to look “beautiful”.
    (Whatever beautiful is anyway….)
    I know my own struggle with it. When I walk up to any register to pay (doesn’t really matter where)
    I am reminded that I do not quite measure up to the beauty standard. Kind of gets depressing after a while. I just read on one magazine that Jennifer Lopez now has the best body she has ever had in her entire life. I am also told that if I buy the magazine, I can find out how she did it!
    I came home with that on my mind and got my Bible out….I read, “I will praise You, O Lord, with all my heart; before the ‘gods’ I will sing Your praise.” (Ps.138: 1)
    That really struck me….we may not have gods of gold and silver here in America, but we do bow down at beauty’s altar, and before this ‘god’ I am to joyfully exult in the one true God and sing His praise. What a testimony the woman of God has!
    Jennifer Lopez may have the best body she has ever had in her life, but what of her spiritual state? We all grow old and wither (I wonder who’s got the greatest bod in the local nursing homes..?)
    Anyway, even though I know all this, it is still difficult to keep heavenly perspective. We all need to daily remind ourselves that the Lord is peering into our hearts….not investigating how much cellulite we have.
    I love Proverbs 31….especially verse 30: “Charm is deceptive, and beauty is fleeting; but a woman who fears the Lord is to be praised.”

    And that is His perspective.

    I need encouragement in this area as well…

    I do hope that all goes well with your weight watchers program. May the Lord bless you as you seek to serve Him!

    P.S…I can’t wait to meet you all in July here in Maine! You are my favorite group of all time. I was disappointed that the concert for this Sat. had to be cancelled, but I hope and pray that all goes well with everything.
    You are such a God honoring group and that is why I love your music so much.


  11. Hey Amy,

    My name is Dani Robinson and I am 20 years old. I met you when you came to Live Oak, FL back in Nov of 09 i believe…anyways…when I met you I told you how much we were alike…in so may ways I could relate to you. One main way was struggling with my weight and being ridiculed for it my whole life.

    For as long as I can remember..I have been overweight. I have seen pictures from when I was really young that I was thinner but can’t remember that time. I have always been overweight…I have always felt fat and ugly..I have always felt like I was never going to find a husband because of that. I never ever thought that any cute guys would ever be interested in me. Or at least guys that met my standards. I can’t tell you the number of times I have tried the latest “diet”. I tried so many yet never felt like I would ever reach my goal…I have always needed to lose around 100 pounds and the thought of having to lose that much and it taking close to a year if not longer was overwhelming. I would get discouraged and just give up when it got tough!!

    I have now started again…this time with renewed strength and a new vision and reason for this weightloss. I started back in September of 09 and set out to not lose weight to be skinny or to be good looking..but rather to please God. I wanted to have a body that would be ready and able to go on any path He led me. I wanted to be healthy enough to do anything He would call me to do!! That includes becoming a wife and a mother. My biggest dream is to be a wife and a mother…and I wanted to be able to give my husband a body that pleased God and was healthy. I wanted him to know that I cared about myself enough to take care of myself. I wanted to be thin on my wedding day. I want to be able to run around with my kids when I have them, and get on the floor and play with them. While those aren’t my only reasons they are among the most important. I am doing this first and foremost for God..and for ME! While I have not met my future husband and have no idea who he might be…I am preparing myself…spiritually, financially, and PHYSICALLY!!

    So…I set out on this Journey in September and found what is one of the most important factors in starting a journey like this….a support system!! I found that part of the reason I didn’t succeed before was because I didn’t have that support system to urge me and push me to keep going even when it felt so hard…and so impossible. I had that this time around. God was gracious enough to bless me with the greatest Best Fried Ever!! Our story of friendship is amazing and so of God…I will spare the details as it will make this novel a full blown series…lol.anyways…so I had this great support system to push me through…you get to a point in any weightloss journey where you have done it long enough…you are sick of eating foods that you are not so fond of or you just wish you could stop thinking about it..you wish you could just eat without thinking again…but you are reminded that…that is the reason you are on this journey because that what you did before…so i encourage anyone that is reading this…find someone…someone who will keep you accountable…someone who is not afraid to tell you when you need to get back on track…and someone who will love you through it all!!

    I am so excited about this group because it will be a blessing and encouragement to so many women who are struggling with this.

    As I said, I started in September and I want to tell you that I am living proof that it is possible…I have now lost almost 80 pounds and am still going strong. I still have around 40 to go but am taking it one day at a time!!

    I was blessed with the opportunity to share my experience with others through blogging and making videos. A local gym where I live sponsors me and was gracious enough to give me a FREE membership to the gym with a personal trainer. I realize this is not something that everyone has the opportunity to do..but you can do it at home. You can walk outside and get some small hand weights to build some muscle…crunches are great and also..for a great workout..the Biggest Loser DVDs work great!!! If you have access to a pool jump in and swim some laps. Just get that heart rate up!! 🙂

    The biggest thing it moderation in food and exercise…I struggle most with moderation! I am working on it though and am doing well so far.

    Anyways..I guess this is long enough… Like I said…I blog about my journey too if you ever want to check it out…it’s suwanneehealth.blogpost.com

    If you ever want to talk or anything my email is gatorgirl1501@gmail.com

    I would love to hear from you…I know you can do it!! I am praying for you and look forward to reading about this journey for you!!

    Love, Dani


  12. Amy,

    I’m so proud of you for beginning the journey toward a healthier lifestyle. I began my journey almost a year ago after watching a Beth Moore Bible study entitled, “The Alabaster Box” based on Luke 7:37-50. This is the account of the sinful woman who washed Jesus’ feet with her tears and anointed Him with expensive perfume. Simon, the host, became indignant and thought very little of her. However, Jesus said …“her many sins have been forgiven—for she loved much. But he who has been forgiven little loves little.”

    This really got me thinking about my own life. How do I show Jesus how much I love Him? Romans 12: 1&2 says, “Therefore, I urge you, brothers, in view of God’s mercy, to offer your bodies as living sacrifices, holy and pleasing to God—this is your spiritual act of worship. Do not conform any longer to the pattern of this world, but be transformed by the renewing of your mind. Then you will be able to test and approve what God’s will is—his good, pleasing and perfect will.” I became convicted that if I truly wanted to worship God, then I needed to honor Him by honoring the temple where He dwells, my body.

    For me, this is a three-fold process: 1) renew my mind by changing my self-destructive habits of overeating and negative self-image, 2) move more by beginning a regular exercise program of walking (it’s free, can be done indoors or out, and can be done nearly anywhere), and 3) pray A LOT! God’s Word is a constant source of inspiration and encouragement as well as a tool to be used when the devil tries to sabotage my progress.

    To date I have lost 44 pounds and am determined to reach the goal that my doctor has set for me which is another 50. I am excited to cheer you on, Amy. I promise to pray for you regularly. Philippians 4:13 says, “I can do all things through Christ Jesus who strengthens me.” Let’s make this our motto as we travel on this weight loss/honoring God road together.


  13. Dear Amy,
    You are so beautiful! You have such a beautiful face and your voice is amazing. I’m glad that you want to loose weight, not for looks but for healthy reasons. My husband has a heart disease and he’s obese. I started reading Eat to Live book and in less that a month he lost 20 lbs.! And you can eat all that you can. I strongly recommend to check this website: http://www.drfuhrman.com it will help you a lot. I know that having such a busy schedule you might not have time to exercise, with this life-style diet you won’t need much exercise at the beginning, you can add a routine as you loose more weight. Remember the Daniel diet (Daniel 1:12) and the Lord will bless you intentions and desires. I’ll keep you in my prayers and I hope you are strong and determined to the very end.

    Love,

    Laura


  14. Hi Amy,
    I started weight watchers back in August of 2009. I have lost 83 lbs so far, so I can personally testify that it has done awesome things for me. It has definitely helped me realize what foods I should and shouldn’t be eating….. Good Luck!!! Are you doing it online or meetings??


  15. This is so exciting! I think the goal of getting a healthy body is so important to having a healthy pregnancy.

    Drink water – lots of water. It is the single most important thing you can do for yourself.


  16. Amy,
    You can do all things through Christ who strengthens you. It’s not easy, I know. Like you I struggle and have struggled with the weight issues both physically and emotionally all my life. About 2 years ago, my stress levels went into overdrive with the devastation of the break up of my brothers marriage and the prospect of never again being part of my nephews lives.
    God used this negitive in my life to start and bring about a major positive. At first I really stopped eating all together. I was so upset that food no longer had or held any pleasure for me. I was at my ropes end. When I started to realize that weight was coming off, in the wrong way, God started me thinking about being around for those I cared about. I started taking a wiser view of what, I did eat, when I would, and what I was drinking. I started cutting out pop. No more Mr. Dew for me and then all soft drinks went by the wayside. I started changing what I ate. Nothing dramatic, but added more fruits, veggies, cut back on portions and fast food(that was hard). I slowly started working out by walking and then using a stationary bike. I was breathing better, I have asthma, and feeling better about myself and what was happening to my family. Next thing I knew I was joining a gym, working out 3 times a week when I could and I lost 80lbs in just under 8 months. I went from a size 32 down to a size 22/24 in 10 months. All because of God’s amazing grace. I have had some health set back in the past couple of years so my goal of taking it all off have not yet come about. But my hope is in the Lord and I know that with His help and in His timing, the rest will come. It’s not so much dieting and a weight loss program, but knowing that I am taking better care of myself and learning to be healty. I will never be a small size or look like a model. But I can be healthy and look and feel better to myself and for those I love. You can too. Keep blogging, keep trusting in God and do what you can when you can. You will succeed. I am praying for you and anytime you need encouragement, just look up for GOd is surely smiling at you and sending you His strength. Thank you for your willingness to share and be so open with all of us. You are a wonderful inspiration to us all. God Bless and Keep you.


  17. I started back to Weight Watchers in Sept. 2009. Next Saturday, May 22nd I make LIFETIME!!!! I never thought I could do it – but it works! With the help of my creator and the guidance and support of my leader – it has been a wonderful experience.

    YOU CAN DO IT!!! Weigh and measure everything. If you bite it – write it!!! Tracking is so important and with the online tracking – it is very easy. PLAN AHEAD – don’t get caught without friendly foods, it is too tempting to stop at the local burger place.

    Whatever you do – remember it isn’t a diet – it is a lifestyle change. If you “blow it” don’t worry about it – just get back on program and forge ahead!

    Mostly never forget – you are beautiful just the way you are……now you can be a more healtheir you. Your voice is superb – we want you around for a very long, long time!

    If you need support – just let me know!

    Ginni



Leave a Reply

