h1

I can finally see it!

July 20, 2010

Every day I look in the mirror I think, “Why can ‘t I see it yet?”  My clothes are hanging, but I look at my face and don’t see the change. Everyone says it’s because I’m looking at myself everyday, so I thought I’d pull out some pictures to see if I could see a change.  And I can finally see it!

I couldn’t stop smiling last night! Now, I know I’m still far from my goal, but it was nice to look at some pictures and see the difference.

This is me 2 months into my HCG diet

This is me last year for the You Deliver Me shoot

Anyways, I thought I’d post them for you.

Also, just for an update on what’s going on with the diet… I hit kind of a plateau over the last 2 weeks and it took forever just to lose like 3 pounds, so Cyndi put me on the Reset for 2 weeks to give my body a break.  Basically, for the next 2 weeks I don’t take the HCG and I can eat more of what I was already eating, including, now, some dairy and other fats.

To be honest, I was so nervous packing my lunch yesterday.  I’ve gotten very comfortable with knowing exactly what and how much I can eat, the thought of thinking for myself and making a good choice kind of scared me.  I still can’t have carbs or sugar, but that leaves a lot of food available to eat and I just want to be sure I’m making good choices.  I figure these next 2 weeks are good practice for how difficult or easy it will be to maintain once I’m at my goal weight.  I am enjoying cheese again! Woot!

The last thing I want to mention today is Allan Hall.  As you know from previous blogs, he has been working so hard losing weight and he has two milestones approaching.  As of yesterday, he is 2 pounds from 50!! He’s really hoping to reach that goal this weekend, and I’m praying he will.  He is also 7 pounds away from reaching his halfway point for total pounds needed to be lost.  At the rate he’s going, he could potentially reach both milestone goals within the next week, so please be praying for him.  I’m so incredibly proud of how hard he’s worked.

It’s rare to meet a man who struggles with weight issues the way Allan has, and he’s agreed, once he reaches his milestones, to guest blog on here and I really can’t wait to read what he has to say.  I think his journey can help so many.  You know, some times we women think we’re the only ones who go through this, and that no man could ever understand our issues. But Allan understands; he’s been there too.  So let’s pray for his success and wait in anticipation of the great blog he’s going to write very soon!!!!

amy

22 comments

  1. Yay! I am sooo proud of you and Allan both!! And you two really are inspiration. I talked to the wife of the Young Adults Pastor at my church on Sunday and told her if I got a full time job around in the D/FW area I was hiring her to be my personal trainer!! I think that no matter where I get a full time position I am getting a personal trainer as I start back on my weight loss goals. The good news is I am taking it one day at a time and working to make good choices – I am losing some inches 🙂


  2. Amy,

    You know I don’t usually comment on here because I get to speak with you everyday, but today I just had to. I want to publically tell you how incredibly proud I am of you. You Amy, are an incredible woman of God and have and are depositing so many seeds of hope to women all around the world.
    I get to hear personally from some of these women when they email me or call me wanting to get set free from the bondages of weight they are carrying around with them. All because of YOU!!! Because of your willingness and humility to share your heart and your journey with the public.
    These women feel that you are giving them hope and encouragement that they too can conquer this excess weight demon. That feel that if the Lord will do this for you, he will do it for them also.

    Thank you, thank you, thank you Amy, for your humility and willingness to share your life and weight loss journey with so many of us that need it in this season of our lives.

    I love you and am so honored to call you my friend.

    Cyndi


  3. YAY Amy! I love it!!!! It is hard work, I know. And I am proud of you.


  4. There is definitely a difference. You look gorgeous.


  5. Not that you didn’t look gorgeous before! I should have said that in your top photo you look radiant.

    Yes. That works better.


  6. You look great!


  7. Pictures or not, you seem to be beautiful inside and out. You have the rare quality of being someone who is beautiful no matter the weight. Your face has a light in it that no amount of weight can conceal. However, congratulations on your hard work!


  8. I don’t know you, but I know the Lord who speaks through you when you sing and that is all I need in order to see what a beautiful person you are and how much the Lord loves you. You are blessed indeed!

    I pray that the Lord Jesus will grant you the desires of your heart and that you are victorious in what you are trying to achieve.

    Just remember the love of Jesus which is unconditional. You were beautiful to Him before and after, because when He looks at you, He does not consider your weight or size, but what lies deep in your heart. As you delight in Him, so He delights in you.

    God bless you and the rest of the band.

    Mercedes


  9. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by angelac519, amynperry. amynperry said: New blog post, includes some info on @allanhallonline! https://selahinhisimage.wordpress.com/2010/07/20/i-can-finally-see-it/ […]


  10. great job sis! so proud of you both! i can see the difference so much too! hallelujah!


  11. I just found your blog through Angie’s tweet. It is such a God thing . . . I just read back through your previous posts and your story is so similar to mine. Through your words I am both encouraged and motivated. I am on Day 32 of the HcG diet and have lost 23.4 pounds so far. The past three days I have just hung out at about the same weight. It is sooo hard not to get discouraged, but I do know that it will start back in. I am learning to love myself again.
    Congratulations on all of your success so far and I am looking forward to following you through the rest of your journey.


  12. You look beautiful! Are you 18??? Keep up the hard work. I will be following your journey.

    A fan in Indiana


  13. Beautiful, beautiful! I love your voice and your smile! 🙂


  14. […] I can finally see it! Every day I look in the mirror I think, “Why can ‘t I see it yet?”  My clothes are hanging, but I […] […]


  15. Wow!!! I’d put those babies on the mirror… just in case you start to wonder again, “why you can’t see it”. Rejoicing with you and thanking God for encouraging me through you. Praying for Allen also…loved his video message and look forward to hearing him share again!


  16. I’m here through Angie’s Tweet too, and oh WOW!!! I am so proud of you even though I’m a random stranger. : ) You can do this with God’s help!!


  17. I have ALWAYS thought you were beautiful. I’ve seen you (Selah) in concert twice. You radiate beauty from within and it pours into your voice. In 2007, my friend and I took a road trip to Chattanooga to see Selah. I did not know that Nichol had left. I was so disappointed….until I heard you…Wow…I read your blog one night and found myself crying. At the time, I wasn’t sure why. I soon figured it out. I know how you felt…about your weight…simply broken. And no matter who told you you were beautiful, it meant nothing. I understood you and I felt like I could connect. I am a teacher, but music is my next closest passion. Not only do I sing Selah’s songs in church, I also work out to you guys. My friends tease me and say that I need upbeat/energizing music, but your music keeps me going and keeps me singing while I’m walking. You guys are such a testimony. I’m so proud of you and Allan. I’ve been up and down for as long as I can remember. I am at my heaviest. I read your blog again tonight and decided…I can do this…I’m not alone…When I am discouraged, I will think of you and your determination. Thanks for allowing your fans to be touched by what goes on in your personal life. You have no idea the impact it has made. I am praying for you through this journey. You look great!!


  18. Wow, You look great! I agree so young and very happy. Continue the great work!

    God Bless


  19. Congrats on your weight loss. I understand your struggle completely. You’re doing great 🙂
    Can’t wait to see you in concert in Portland on Saturday. I’m bringing my mom, sister & niece for a “girls night”. Celebrated my 40th birthday the last time you were in Maine and I know this concert will be a blessing, too!
    God bless your travels and thank you for sharing your gift of music!!!


  20. Amy, I love Selah and got to see you perform with Avalon in Bentonville, AR. Just so you know, you have a vocal talent and love for the Lord that eclipse any physical struggles you may have. I’m a size 4 and totally want to be you for a day, just to know what it feels like to sing like that. I know what you are doing takes determination and support, and you’ve got it! I don’t know you, but am very proud of you.


  21. I showed my husband your picture at the top & asked if he recognized you – answer no. Then I scrolled to the next picture & he said Wow!

    Keep it up girl! You look fantastic Amy! Saw a pic of you & Allen a couple weeks ago & you both looked fantastic!

    Avid fans!
    Dan & Cindy


  22. Thank you for encouraging and ministering to all of us in McComb,MS. The only way we got tickets was for God to provide them. It was the best 2 1/2 hours we’ve spent in a long time and a much needed blessing for us.



Leave a Reply

