h1

Entitlement

September 1, 2010

I know it’s been a while since I’ve posted, I’ve been super busy in the studio and at work.  I just wanted to share something that God has been dealing with me about these last few weeks.

A couple weeks ago, Allan (from Selah) and I had an interesting conversation about our weight loss journeys.  We were discussing the ever frustrating “plateau” and how we both had kind of been hanging around the 50 pound mark for a while and Allan said something very interesting.  He said, “Fifty is such a milestone, such a big accomplishment, that lately I’ve felt entitled to treat myself.”  It was like a light bulb went off in my head.  As we chatted we realized that giving in to that “Entitlement” and allowing ourselves a treat whenever we felt like we deserved it, was actually becoming more of a bad habit, instead of an earned reward.

How many times in the last month had I allowed myself a “treat” or rather, a “cheat”, whether it be some cheese, or a few pieces of sugar free chocolate?  I had nickel and dimed my way, so to speak, into a habit, and it reflected in the scale.

Our little conversation got me thinking about how many times we use the words, “I deserve” or “I’ve earned it” when dealing with the Lord.  I know I have.

“Lord, I’ve worked hard for You all week, I deserve a night off church.”

“I’m in full time ministry, I deserve…(fill in the blank)”

“I give and serve more than any one else, why don’t I have…(fill in the blank)?

As Christians, sometimes we feel like God owes us something because of what we “do” for Him all the time. We serve at church, we donate to the needy, we spread the gospel, so in return, we think we deserve a reward; we’re “entitled” to something we want.  But that’s now how it works. We serve at church because we love God; we donate to the needy because we are the hands and feet of God; we spread the gospel because Jesus did something so GREAT for us that we can’t shut up about it.

Anyways, it’s just a thought.  Maybe next time we think we “deserve” something from God, we can think about what we didn’t deserve from Him; what cost Him a Son, and cost us nothing.  Thank God for His amazing Grace; that we don’t have to deserve Him to receive Him!

I should probably mention, in the spirit of honesty, that even since that revelation of entitlement, I have had a couple of snags in my diet. But I’m dealing with them.  Confession: I go to a very multi-cultural church, and on Sunday we had a wonderful special service called Redeeming our Connections, celebrating other countries and cultures. After we had a multi-cultural potluck, and I made a decision.

Pupusas.

The scale reflected it the next morning… but they were totally worth it.

Oooohhh the deliciousness… Pupusas are a dish from El Salvador, and the freakin’ ROCK!!!!  I only had 2, though.  I do have some will power. 🙂

Anyways, I’m at at total weight loss of 55.6 pounds! Only 55 more to go!!

amy

12 comments

  1. I am so excited for you! Wow, 55.6 is a huge accomplishment!!! I can’t wait to “claim” 50 plus pounds weightloss!

    CONGRATULATIONS TO YOU!!!


    • I recognize that type of thinking ! I have so many time said to myself I have worked hard and I deserve food( etc).


  2. Wow!! 50 is an awesome accomplishment and I hope I can say that at some point this year. I’m rather unhealthy and I need to get better. The problem is I really like to cook and I really like food… I like it all – a little too much.

    Oh so true about thinking we deserve stuff, when a lot of times it ends up putting us farther behind in the end. How I wish it were natural for me to let God decide what we should do with every aspect and wish He would make it known how we are to go about doing it all! I wish He would take away the desire to think we deserve or own or have… as a result of something I have done. I’m guilty of this too. However, let me say out-loud and clearly that I would be nowhere without the grace of God! I would have nothing, be nothing, and most of all miss out on all the gifts of grace He has poured over my life in abundance – ones I didn’t even ask for. I am the least deserving person when it comes to what I’ve been blessed with, and they are gifts I will never be able to repay. That’s how God works, giving us what He wills for us – things that are far beyond what we could even dream of what we deserve if we are willing to surrender to His grace. It sounds so easy.


    • Thanks for reminding me to mention His grace. I added a sentence after I read your post. His grace is great, and I wouldn’t be anywhere without it.

      thanks
      amy


  3. Im lovin this post! Just what i was struggling with!
    entitlement…. I m such a sinner! thank you so much for your honesty and transparency here….Hope to see you in oct.
    Jo


  4. Keep up the good work! In God’s strength you can do amazing things!


  5. You “deserve” compliments!! You’ve “earned” them.
    Congratulations and you can get there. I know you can.


  6. Thanks for the updates Amy….you truly are an inspiration. God Bless you in your journey…you will continue to do amazing things for God which in turn is for yourself as well.


  7. You have gone this far. You will last the distance! Remember you are not doing this in your own strength, but the Lord’s. Nothing will stop Him!

    By the way, I have suggested to our worship band leader that they sing “The Lord’s prayer” one Sunday. Your rendition of that song gives me goose-bumps every time, and as our church is about to start a series on prayer, I wondered whether there is any way in which we can get hold of the music so that our band can do it some justice.

    Would you be able to provide us with this?

    God bless you and yours.


  8. SO GOOD to follow your journey! I’m an MK from Cameroon, struggle with weight issues, have an August birthday, and am a Weight Watcher. I am so grateful I finally looked up your blog. I have had hundreds of “excuses” to go off track this past month and just needed the inspiration to get back on track-and I think you have just helped me out. Last night I was thinking about where I am in life and what’s going on and I realize that I’m a hider. And as i thought about that, kinda chewing on what that meant, the scripture “Let your light so shine before men…” came to mind and I lost my reasons to keep flying under the radar. Anyway, enough about me!!! Keep shining!! Praying you over the plateau.


  9. Amy,
    I congratulate you on your weight loss so far!! What a joy it is to get that relief. I want to encourage you to take a little different approach to the weight loss. I have spent the last year losing weight through a Bible study. The Lord has taught me so much about surrender and obedience to honor Him with the temple He has given me for His Holy Spirit. The journey is no longer about losing weight it is about obedience to Him and defeating the flesh!! I know you are seeking Him as you lose weight I just felt led to share that with you for your times of struggle when you are tempted by your flesh. Have a Blessed day!! 🙂


  10. Amy…You looked so beautiful last night, (in Modesto) not only your outward beauty…but the beauty of your love for the Lord & your husband shone through…As soon as I get my pics transferred from my sweet husbands phone to the computer I will email the pic of us two wimmen
    ; – ) to you.
    After the concert last night in the car on the way home I was thinking alot about different things and of all the weird things that popped into my head (Alan mentioned all the thoughts that fly around in his head as he was talking to us last night..if you can remember…tell him when this happens to us ..hubby & I….we call it RTH….Random Thought Hour…hehe) anyway the thing that popped into my head was that I needed a new “signature” for my emails, etc…and “In the Grip of His Grace” came to me just a bit ago…and then I read this post…I will take that as a confirmation. : – )

    God bless you my sister in Christ.

    In the Grip of His Grace



Leave a Reply

