h1

The final countdown

January 11, 2011

December was hard.  I’m just going to be honest, it was hard. I posted on the first and then I started touring and it was exhausting. Then Jake and I went to Alabama for Christmas which was amazing and exhausting.  I finally told Cyndi about half way through the month that I needed a reset, if not physically, then mentally. I was going crazy.  I felt like every day started with attempts to do well, then I just ended up eating garbage.  Christmas time is hard, there’s candy and treats everywhere and my will power was practically non-existent. So I went on the reset maintenance.

Jake and I went to Birmingham and we ate almost the same thing the whole week; he maintained and I gained 5 pounds!!  How does that happen?!  So then, I came back and gained 3 pounds on my load days.. so, needless to say, I’m just now getting back to my 75 pounds lost.  I feel like this last week back on the protocol has been my hardest. I think it’s because I’m nearing the end.

Have you ever worked with someone who gave their 2-week notice, and so for the last 2 weeks there, they came in late and did a poor job because, let’s face it, it’s not like they’re going to get fired for it?  Well, I worked for Starbucks for many years, and saw it all the time. We called it “short-timers disease”.  They’re so close to the end, they don’t care what happens.

I think that’s where I’ve been hanging out mentally these last couple of weeks.  I have “short-timers disease.”   I’ve worked hard, I’m close to the end, so what’s the big deal if I eat popcorn at the movies?  Well, the big deal is, I gained weight!

I was reading through my old blogs this morning for inspiration and I got a wake up call.  It only took me 10 weeks to lose 44 pounds in the beginning.  It’s taken over 5 months to lose the other 30 I’ve lost since then.  I feel like I’ve been on this diet forever, and it’s making me crazy.  It’s time to end this.  It’s time to knock out my last 25 pounds so I can move on with being normal.  Since I gained a little this week, it’s more like 27 pounds. Boo!

So, this is the final countdown. My goal is 100 pounds total loss.  I weighed 209 this morning, so I’m 27 pounds away.  I’m only 9 away from breaking 200, which is a goal I wanted to accomplish by Jan 15th, but 9 pounds in 5 days seems a little out of reach.  But I’m going to try.

What I thought I’d do for the next 27 pounds is post my weight every day; MAJOR ACCOUNTABILITY.  If I’m up, then I’ll have to confess what has made me gain…

So today we start the FINAL COUNTDOWN


209
5 comments

  1. Keep up the good work!! Christmas was horrible for me too. I felt like I was starting over on Jan 1st, but the best part is we did start AGAIN!! We got back on track and that is the most important thing to remember!! Keep up the good work you look great and I am sure you feel great too 🙂 It is worth all your effort!!


  2. Amy,

    I love you wayyyyy too much!!! You are the most awesome, REAL woman I have ever met…..you know that I know, YOU can do this…..and I know that YOUR story is ministering to so many woman around the nations….not just this country…BUT, around the world…and I KNOW this for a fact because I recieve the emails from them…they are inspired by YOU and your authenticity.

    Amy, I celebrate YOU!!!!

    xoxoxoxo
    Cyndi


  3. Thanks for making me feel better about my situation also. I have needed a fire under my butt since thanksgiving… I gained some too and felt horrible. But we can try again. I will try to hang in there with ya thru the next couple weeks. Friendly inspiration is what I need. not competition… inspiration. That is what u r 2 me Amy. Thanks for being YOU! YOU r so special to me!


  4. Thanks for being so transparent with everything! I totally understand what you are feeling – in fact, I started this day off COMPLETELY wrong with Peanut M&M’s for breakfast LOL so after reading your blog this morning I’m going to change this day 🙂

    Thanks for everything you do even if you dont realize it to be inspiring 🙂

    -Hope


  5. This is exactly what I’m going through. I am 14 pounds from goal and definitely have/had short timers disease. I’m hoping to knock the 14 off in the next few weeks with the help of my coach! hang in there, we CAN DO IT!



Leave a Reply

