h1

I’m finally blogging again!

November 8, 2011

I just realized it’s been 3 months since I blogged.  Life is crazy!  I haven’t really enjoyed being pregnant, so I guess that makes blogging hard because I feel like everything is a complaint.  So, instead of complaining, I’m going to tell you what I like about being pregnant:

Food.

Um… I know there’s more here…

Josiah kicking me (which he does all day, now).

Yeah, that about sums it up.  I’ve been traveling a lot and so I don’t have all the energy I’m supposed to have. Plus we’re trying to buy a house, which should have been easy since we’ve found 3 in the last 3 months, but all three have been out bid by other buyers and we’ve lost them.  That’s a little annoying.  Right now we’re in a one bedroom apartment so we’ve got to do something soon.

I think the hardest part has been the weight gain.  I knew I would gain weight, but it still doesn’t feel good.  I actually can’t wait until I get go back on Grace & Strength and get back into my old clothes.  Ah! How nice to be referring to “old clothes” and it be smaller ones!   I can’t go back on it, though, until I’m done nursing and my plan is to try to nurse for at least 6 months.  So, it looks like some time next summer… patience.

My OB is a group of ladies and I’ve been meeting different ones each visit and my October visit sucked.  She basically berated me for my “excessive weight gain.” I told her that was kind of a shock considering that at my last visit one of the other doctors said, “Your weight’s great.”  Hmmm… When Jake and I left, even he commented on how mean she was. I cried all the way home.  Needless to say, I’ll not be seeing her again, and when I went for “weight follow-up” I made the appointment with the really nice doctor and told her how I felt about the mean one.  I didn’t spend the hardest year of my life losing 85 pounds so my doctor can make me feel bad about myself.  But, taking what she said into consideration, I probably need to cut the carbs.

Boo

Some days all I want is toast and cereal and I have to force myself to eat protein and veggies.  I haven’t craved anything but bread since the very beginning.  It sucks.

So, anyone have any tasty low carb suggestions?And don’t say Greek Yogurt, cuz I could barf just typing it. 🙂

Oh, and since the Grace & Strength diet, I’ve hardly had salt.  I don’t use any at home when I cook and very little when I’m out. I can’t even eat chips anymore, they gross me out.  But last week I was craving pepperoni and black olive pizza, so I had some; big mistake.  Check this out:

The next morning, that is what I woke up to!  I freaked out!  So I drank extra water all day, then elevated my feet all evening, made Jake rub them, and had NO SALT the whole day.  I’ve always reacted poorly to salt, but this was crazy.  Is pepperoni and black olive really worth it?  No! So, after my evening of rest my ankles went back to normal and I’ve sworn off salty foods.

Anyways, this is my pregnancy so far:

  • Josiah kicks a lot but won’t kick anyone but me.  Every time Daddy puts his hands on my tummy he stops.  The little turkey.  My sister, Lexi, finally got one, but that was all. He stopped immediately after.
  •  I still cry for no reason; that’s weird, but I’m learning to feel it coming so at least it’s not a crazy outburst.
  • I have severe road rage
  • Ligament pains; that’s a whole other blog post…torture
  • Plus-size skinny maternity jeans?  Stupid idea.
  • Random barfing from highly sensitive smell and gag reflex – this one is fun, I’ll have to tell you some time about my road trip with Todd from Selah… poor guy.
  • Sleeping sitting up; poor Jake.  I take up 3/4 of the bed with all my pillows and couch cushions.
  • My baby bump: not so much a bump, but two. It’s really strange.  I think since I was chunky when I started,  my two belly chunks have grown individually rather than as one cute bump. I’m not going to show a picture.
  • My hubby loves my crazy belly. He rubs it and kisses it and tells Josiah all the nerdy things he wants to teach him.  He tells me I’m gorgeous and actually looks at me like I really am.  It makes me feel amazing.

Here’s my little man! And what we’re bringing him home from the hospital in.

amy

17 comments

  1. Hahahahaa….. “I have severe road rage”.
    You are hilarious, Amy.

    A few doctors are simply uncaring, but I think you made the right decision in planning to see the other doctor on your next visit. You don’t have to see the “ol’ crotchety one” just because she’s in that office. Hormones are sensitive enough right now without having to deal with someone who has no manners. Just make sure she’s not on duty when you deliver! haha.

    Glad to receive an update as to how you’re doing.

    (And my sister purchased the latest Selah CD and LOVES it (no surprise!). I am waiting until I can afford it and then I’ll have it in my hot little hands ASAP!) :o)

    God bless.
    ~Michelle


  2. LOL Bread! My first 3 pregnancies if you even thought about touching the bread basket or bread period I would of stabbed you with my fork. LOL.
    The vomiting UGH comes out of no where…I have thrown up EVERYWHERE, its to the point my kids say Mommy is the baby making you sick again? We should get some food so you don’t throw up soon. LOL I love these boys. I had no ankles for awhile. My nurse is a witch and asks me with every pound if I have been indulging. LISTEN LADY I have lost 124 lbs. I can stand to gain 6 lbs in 5 months. BACK OFF and don’t mess with my pizza.
    The 2 portioned belly made me giggle too. I wanted that perfect belly so badly I actully rolled up a washcloth and tucked it then put my girdle on so I had ONE fat roll and not 2 lol.

    Hang in there it is soooooooooooooo worth it in the end!!!


  3. Girl, you’re doing GREAT! Most of your pregnancy “issues” are totally normal. I have a picture of my feet looking like that too, EXCEPT it was like that my whole last trimester. When I had Adrianna I gained 40 lbs total and she did so well nursing that I lost ALL 40 lbs in TWO weeks! I think it was because she nursed every two hours. Feed little Josiah as much as he wants! 😉 Love ya Amy and I’m praying for you and little Josiah!


  4. Loved reading it Amy! miss you, Clementine


  5. Amy,

    I love reading your blogs, you make me laugh!!! Little Josiah will be so worth everything you have experienced so far..


  6. Thank you for posting on your blog. I’ve thought of you often since we saw Selah this summer in Clara City, Minnesota. We so much enjoyed your music that night. You told us during your concert that you were expecting but I don’t remember your due date. I’m praying for you and your delivery. Since then we’ve found out that our daughter is expecting in April, so I’m going to tell her about your blog. Misery loves company, right? Best wishes with the rest of your journey. Can’t wait to see pictures of Josiah. God Bless – Kathy Murphy


  7. Amy,
    I think you are doing great. Don’t let that doctor get you down.
    As far as the gag reflex, be prepared. I still can’t even put a pencil near my lips or chew a whole piece of Trident gum without gagging!
    When Josiah gets here, enjoy every second. It goes by SO fast.
    Angela


  8. Hi Amy!
    I’ve been following your blog for a while now, and I have never commented before but I thought I would now because I have been missing your posts! It sounds like you’re doing GREAT. I am a long time Selah fan and fellow weight loss soldier. I love hearing about your journey, and thank you so much for being vulnerable with this audience! I am confident you are positively influencing the lives of others, and I’m sure there are so many people who just don’t comment. Keep it up and be blessed, sister!


  9. Loved this post…
    Seriously don’t let that nasty nurse wreck your day! You have done amazing and weight gain is part of pregnancy!
    The severe road rage comment cracked me up!
    I craved garlic both of my pregnancies! My poor poor hubby!


  10. Amy, you crack me up! I love that you are real! I’m so excited for you and Jake. Don’t even trip about the weight gain, it’s for a very great cause. Besides, you know what to do! 🙂 I was like a bloated tick in my second pregnancy! I just swelled everywhere, except my head which looked disproportionately small, at least to me. Luckily it all goes back to some semblance of a “new normal”!


  11. I loved your blog post. So many things so true! I am just a bit further along than you and it has been an interesting ride. I have got that gestational diabetes so I have only gained about 8 lbs the whole pregnancy. But whoever invented maternity clothes needs to just go to the plus size department and take some lessons. I have more peasant tops from the plus section than actual maternity tops. So you are doing great and we can’t wait to meet our new son! I know you are excited about Josiah. Just think of all the things he has experienced with just you!


  12. You should be proud of yourself! You’ve done an amazing job! And I’m sure you look beautiful just like the hubby says! 🙂

    Don’t let the pregnancy get you down, you’ll have a wonderful baby boy in your arms before you know it. I’d give anything right now to have pregnancy sickness, but the Lord hasn’t answered that prayer…yet! But we continue to pray with hope and love for our Lord, and we know that whatever answer He provides is the one He will also give us the grace and courage to accept!

    Love you, and praying for you!


  13. Amy:
    I also had a really mean doctor in my ob group of physicians and just my luck, he was the doc on call when my son was born. But I forgot all his arrogant comments when I held my sweet baby boy in my arms. You will soon be caressing Josiah’s tiny fingers and toes while you sing him sweet lullabies. Praying for you and Jake as that day draws near!
    Teresa

    P.S. Love, love, love the onesie! 🙂


  14. Hi Amy!
    This is my first comment on your blog, I popped over from Twitter earlier today and confess that I may have started back at the beginning 🙂 I just wanted to let you know that your journey has been a real encouragement to me! I heard you speak (and sing, oh girl you gave me chills during Amazing Grace) at the Women of Faith event in Sacramento last month and the Lord really used you to speak to me. I hadn’t even planned to go, but someone bought a friend and I tickets the day before 🙂 After reading your blog it just has me thinking about what wonderful things God can do when we bring him our desires and couple them with his discipline. Thank you for sharing! Congrats on your little boy and I’ll be praying for you!


  15. I don’t understand nasty doctors! How rude! It’s so unnecessary! ‘m sorry you had to deal with that. 😦 On the other hand, great husbands rock. How adorable! Hang in there, Mama. You’re doing great and everything is going to be fine! Praying for you!

    Blessings!


  16. i really hope you blog soon! I love your transparency!


  17. i pray you blog soon! We miss you!



Leave a Reply

